Hotel cheats from waystation

I spent this weekend in a transitional hotel between a hospital and home. So I had lodgings but no food or cash or credit for two days whilst I waited on my designated ride. 

Here is where some of the more useful hotel tricks came into play. 

First I raided the hotel lobby’s pile of complimentary items. 

Dinner: 

Ingredients… 

three packages of ketchup

1 cup of hot water (made using the lobby coffee pot)

one salt packet 

Instant tomato soup. Put the ketchup in the cup with the salt. Add the hot water. Stir with a coffee stir stick. 

Beverage – cup of hot water over three free Star peppermint hard candies from the counter. Peppermint “tea”. 

Bath: 

Run as hot as possible and fill to drain hole…as water begins to gurgle out, turn on shower at same speed as the drain plug so that water level and temperature remain constant. Bath with complimentary soap bar, wash hair with same. 

Clean clothes after bath: 

I only had two changes of clothes on me and was damned if I was putting them back on dirty.Took clothes and wet them in the bath water, took them out and lathered them heavily in the complimentary shampoo. Sprayed them under the shower attachment and sloshed them repeatedly in the bath tub. Let out bath and rinsed them in the shower spray and in clean water. Wrung them out very throughly and hung them over shower rail to dry and turned on infrared heating lamps. 

Wrapped self in towels and slept. 

Morning: 

Dressed in dry clothes and went down to free continental breakfast. Grabbed two of everything, three of the cereals and fruits. Grabbed cocoa packets in fours/teas in fours. Snagged four cups, milk in two, juice in two and bowls and lots of condiments and groused under breath the whole time about the rest of the family being too lazy to come out for food for other guests’ benefit.

Returned to room, ate, washed cups and bowls in bar soap. Put the rest of the food and washed clothes in my zipper bag. Go for a walk so maid can do up room and provide more soap, shampoo, etc. 

Lunch/Dinner: Scrounged foods from this morning. Reused cups and bowls after washing in sink with new bar of soap left by maid.

Repeat bath and put on clothes that are clean. Repeat wash of dirty clothes. 

Next morning repeat scrounging for food stuffs. Discovered a nearby Walmart and ate samples, too.

And so forth. 

This kept me respectable for the required two days until I could get my ride home. And all for free – save the room which was paid in advance.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Cool website, I hadn’t noticed twiztedtails.wordpress.com earlier during my searches!
    Keep up the fantastic work!

    Reply
  2. Hi

    I’m one and I want to just say Hello all

    My site is:about suwalki

    I hope to write many of posts here

    If it’s wrong thread to say hi, please move to correct one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

